top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie Pedersen

Melancholy

This is the sketchnoting we took on the "brief history of Melancholy" :


Untranslatable Word for Sadness


懐かしい // Natsukashi


This is the Japanese word for the feeling of evocative longing for something past: nostalgia that's also very sad, as it reminds you that what you're remembering will never come again. Personally, I use this word a lot but not so much in a negative connotation as it is depicted in this definition. Whenever something old or something reminds me of a past memory I will use this word in exclamation, but I have never really used it negatively. I've only ever used it in a way of sort of reminiscing a good time I've had or good memories.


Melancholy Quotes


“Melancholy is the happiness of being sad.” Victor Hugo


I chose this image because it is one of the last pictures I ever took of my grandfather. He passed away late November of last year and I haven't seen him in over a year, since he lives in Denmark and I was only able to see him once a year during the summer time. This picture gives me the "happiness of being sad" because theres such a good memory behind this image. My father, my grandfather and I had just finished having coffee in the kitchen and the sky had cleared up so we went outside in the sun. My grandfather always sits in that chair, right outside the door and next to the steps, whenever we go outside. His dog Bamse (which means bear in Danish), always runs up and sits down on the step next to him. So thats my happiness of being sad.


Ode on Melancholy


"She dwells with Beauty—Beauty that must die; "

― John Keats


My favorite line from the whole poem is the line is this quote above from the third stanza. This line stood out to me because of the realness of it. This line casts some foreshadowing that she (the mistress) may soon die as well. It also gives the realism that beauty doesn't last forever. I also kind of inferred it with the mistress being a metaphor of depression or melancholy. I find that the author was able to knit in some false beauty into a poem about melancholy which is mostly sadness and there was almost a little light in the whole poem itself.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page